© Mary Spies 2015
In Oregon, a marriage license is issued only by an Oregon County Clerk. Your Oregon marriage license may be used anywhere within the State of Oregon. To obtain a license, the man and woman must complete and sign an application. If either party has divorced within the last 3 years they will need to show the decree to the clerk.
Fees and hours of issue vary by county as well as additional requirements.
Same sex marriages are now recognized in Oregon.
Age Requirements: Both applicants must be at least 18 years of age or older. Persons 17 years of age must have a parent or guardian's consent. No one under the age of 17 may marry; there are no exceptions.
Waiting Period: 3 Day Waiting Period. The county Clerk may waive the waiting period upon request.
(Weddings On Church Street will perform same day marriages.)
Identification: Picture Identification
Blood Test: None
Cost: The fee is $60.00. The license is valid for 60 days from date of issue and is valid anywhere in Oregon.
An Oregon license is not valid in the state of Washington. Officiates must file the marriage license within 10 days of the ceremony. It is Church House policy to file applications the same or following day. A certified copy of the filed license application is required by many insurance companies, and banks, and for passport, Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles and Social Security office.
Marion County charges $4 for a certified copy of a marriage license, however fees may vary by county.